Hardware question

Slayman

Hi there fellow folks!

I am not an expert on builds and matching things which end up on a motherboard, so I kindly ask for someone's help!

I mainly play Fortnite, my fps is locked to 144hz (related to my monitor) and everything is set on low with a stretched resolution.

I still get massive FPS drops when in combat for some reason, so here are my specs so you might be able to figure out with me what I need to replace to get better performance and stick around the 144 fps mark.

Processor: i5-4440 3.10GHz

GPU: ZOTAC GTX 1050ti 4GB OC Edition

MOBO: Gigabyte B85-HD3

Power supply: 500 watts 

RAM: 8 gigs of DDR3 1600MHz

Combat is usually one of the harder parts of shooting games to render. Your GPU and CPU will also struggle to get higher fps numbers, due to the CPU's age and power, and the GPU's power.

My Build, v2.1 --- CPU: i7-8700K @ 5.2GHz/1.288v || MoBo: Asus ROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming || RAM: 4x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 2666 14-14-14-33 || Cooler: Custom Loop || GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black, on water || PSU: EVGA G2 850W || Case: Corsair 450D || SSD: 850 Evo 250GB, Intel 660p 2TB || Storage: WD Blue 2TB || G502 & Glorious PCGR Fully Custom 80% Keyboard || MX34VQ, PG278Q, PB278Q

Audio --- Headphones: Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX || Amp: Schiit Audio Magni 3 || DAC: Schiit Audio Modi 3 || Mic: Blue Yeti

[Under Construction]

My Truck --- 2002 F-350 7.3 Powerstroke || 6-speed

My Car --- 2006 Mustang GT || 5-speed || BBK LTs, O/R X, MBRP Cat-back || BBK Lowering Springs, LCAs || 2007 GT500 wheels w/ 245s/285s

The Experiment --- CPU: i5-3570K @ 4.0 GHz || MoBo: Asus P8Z77-V LK || RAM: 16GB Corsair 1600 4x4 || Cooler: CM Hyper 212 Evo || GPUs: Asus GTX 750 Ti, || PSU: Corsair TX750M Gold || Case: Thermaltake Core G21 TG || SSD: 840 Pro 128GB || HDD: Seagate Barracuda 2TB

R.I.P. Asus X99-A motherboard, April 2016 - October 2018, may you rest in peace. 5820K, if I ever buy you a new board, it'll be a good one.