AMD monitor with an nvidia card

Korepavore

so i recently bought an acer monitor without realizing it was made for an AMD card because i wasnt aware monitors are made for specific cards, im kinda new to this, i have a 1050 ti in my pc, when i plug in my hdmi cable to the gpu it runs terrible, much much worse than when i had it set up the same way with a 22 inch tv i was using in place as a monitor. but when i plug in the hdmi cable into the mobo it runs fine, i can run overwatch at 1080p on ultra but the frame rate is capped at 60 even though i have it set to my monitors refresh rate which is 144htz. did i fuck up big time by getting an AMD monitor or is there a way to fix this?

*PRO TIP* neon lights do in fact make your rig faster!

Just now, Korepavore said:

so i recently bought an acer monitor without realizing it was made for an AMD card because i wasnt aware monitors are made for specific cards, im kinda new to this, i have a 1050 ti in my pc, when i plug in my hdmi cable to the gpu it runs terrible, much much worse than when i had it set up the same way with a 22 inch tv i was using in place as a monitor. but when i plug in the hdmi cable into the mobo it runs fine, i can run overwatch at 1080p on ultra but the frame rate is capped at 60 even though i have it set to my monitors refresh rate which is 144htz. did i fuck up big time by getting an AMD monitor or is there a way to fix this?

You can't enable Freesync with an Nvidia GPU anyways, so this should have zero impact on your performance. You didn't buy the wrong thing, you just can't use Freesync, so your monitor will always be capped to it's max refresh rate or whatever you choose to set it at. If you can, try running the display through a Displayport cable instead as your monitor should have included one. Otherwise, I don't know what to tell you for why you're receiving a performance hit.