Help me get a cheap bike

I'm a poor student in NYC who can't afford the subway. I don't know enough about bikes to navigate Craigslist and get a good deal. Reddit's bicycle communities are infested with snobs who only insult people looking for something cheap.

I don't want to spend more than $125. Ideally I'd spend $50 but there's no way that'll work.

Does anyone have recommendations for a cheap bike or can help me scour my local Craigslist for something promising?

Haha. I bike 30 minutes to and from my University campus. I saved bills and get good exercise at the same time. 

What are your budget? 

Sudo make me a sandwich 

15 minutes ago, wasab said:

Haha. I bike 30 minutes to and from my University campus. I saved bills and get good exercise at the same time. 

What are your budget? 

$125. Sorry I didn't include it.

32 minutes ago, Aereldor said:

I'm a poor student in NYC who can't afford the subway. I don't know enough about bikes to navigate Craigslist and get a good deal. Reddit's bicycle communities are infested with snobs who only insult people looking for something cheap.

I don't want to spend more than $125. Ideally I'd spend $50 but there's no way that'll work.

Does anyone have recommendations for a cheap bike or can help me scour my local Craigslist for something promising?

Honestly, just check some out on craigslist and go take them for a ride to see which rides better but don't get anything with wheels smaller than 24". Bicycles are easy to fix up but if you don't know what you're doing then just take it to a bike shop, not that expensive to grease bearings and change brake pads.

Main PC CPU: 7700K, MOBO: Asus Strix, GPU: Aorus Extreme 3080, PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 750, RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB Storage: 970 Evo 1tb

Lounge PC CPU: 4790K MOBO: Asus Hero VII GPU: EVGA 3060 Ti PSU: Corsair RM650 RAM: Kingston HyperX 16gb Storage: 970 Evo 1TB