New to MAC

Hello guys,

So yesterday I bought an iMac, my first Mac ever. I've had a Hackintosh in the past and as I really enjoy the OS I decided to make the jump.

I am enjoying it so far, very pleased with it. If you guys have any tips for me, not the usual stuff you find online please to have them. But really I just wanted to say Hi!

David

"Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength" Arnold

hi shit post that should be a status update.

☼

ψ ︿_____︿_ψ_   

I've been using macOS as my daily driver for over 11 years now - since just before the Intel switch.  I've been getting back into Windows for the sake of PC gaming and VR a bit lately, but still prefer macOS for getting most of my work done.

Off the top of my head, here's what I can think of that any new Mac user should know:

• Many useful little apps in the Utilities folder (under Applications).  I use things in the Utilities folder so frequently that I've added it to my Finder sidebar
    • Audio MIDI Setup - configure weird and wonderful audio behaviours
    • Console - view system debug messages
    • Digital Color Meter - measure on-screen colours
    • Terminal
      • You can drag a file from Finder into Terminal and it will paste the file's full path
      • If you have spent much time using Linux, FreeBSD, or other unix OSes or want to learn any development, you should install a package manager like Homebrew, Macrpots or Fink
        • I personally prefer Macports, it works similarly to BSD and Gentoo Ports style packaging.  It has a very large collection of packages that install reliably
        • Homebrew is a unix-like package manager designed for macOS specifically.  It's the most popular in the community at the moment