Astro A50 Headset Review

Watch my FULL REVIEW of the Astro A50 Headset below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsKund1kcig

Let me begin by saying that I have been using this headset every day for the past  two years. It is easily the most comfortable headset I have ever owned. The sound quality is amazing and super clear. Each ear cup contains a sizable piece of very comfortable moderately thick foam that feels like memory foam, doesn’t allow for much sound leakage and does a fairly good job in the noise isolation category.

Now lets talk about the features and what you get when you buy it.  Plaese note that Astro has made some pretty serious upgrades to the A50’s hardware and software since this release so yours may be different.  You can check the link in the description below to get info on the latest upgrades.

The box itself was excellent, very sturdy and well made. Inside the box I  got:

1 Base Station that includes an SPDIF…”SPDIF” optical in and out slot, a USB A slot that charges the headset  and a USB Micro slot that serves to power the device.

1 SPDIF Audio cable

1 USB A to Mini Cable that is 3 feet long. This plugs into the base station and charges the headset. I found this to be a little short for my liking so I went to Staples and bought a 10 ft cord for like 5 bucks.

1 Stand

1 USB A to Micro cable that plugs into the back of your computer and powers the base station.

1 XBox chat cable.

Now lets break away from that and talk features:

As I  said each ear piece is encased in a sizable piece of very comfortable moderately thick foam that feels like memory foam, doesn’t allow for much sound leakage and does a fairly good job in the noise isolation category. The headset supports Dolby Digital 7.1 Surround Sound and I’ll tell you…... IT’S GORGEOUS!. The clarity is so good that I can usually pinpoint where another gamer or enemy is and react long before they can get a clean shot.  

Superb job there, Astro.