Advice needed: iTunes server and raid back up

Monty007

Hi all,

I suffered a completely loss of my media array over the weekend! I'm now committed to building a proper server type machine dedicated to house at least 10-20TB of backups for my whole house (3 hacks; 2 iMacs and a MBP) but also to serve as an iTunes media centre. I have an old PPC G5 that I have been using to watch movies from (through iTunes). I'm planning to gut the internals and build a new machine with that case.

I have no experience with servers at all! Everything in my house is OSX based. I'm in need of some advice on components and how to set it up - preferably with some sort of RAID config so I don't go through this nightmare again. I have seen and used the recommended builds from Tony. Do I need something different for this new config? Do I need to run a server version of OSX? Would I be able to have a centralized iTunes media collection to stream throughout the house? I don't need this to be a powerhouse - I have my Leviathan build for that.

Your advice is greatly appreciated.

I was thinking of something like:

-i3 Ivy processor

-H77/Z77N board (I don't know about this because of the RAID situation I'm considering)

-on-board video

-8GB of ram

-SSD for boot

- WD Red or Seagate NAS drives for storage in RAID either 3 x 4TB or 4 x 4TB

-Not sure about a dedicated RAID card or should I get a different mobo with more SATA ports ?

-I know that OSX does a software raid and only does RAID 0

-Corsair hx 750 PSU - i know its probably too much but I'm planning to upgrade my Leviathan build so this -will be donated to this project.

Thanks in advance.