Game development language

I have com up with an idea for a game that I want to make but I am not sure what language to use. I have some Java experience so I was going to use that, but my friend told me that Java would run slower than c++. The only problem is I have no c++ experience. Any suggestions? I can learn another language if I need to but I would rather not if possible.

depends on the platform you're aiming for. Android will be in Java (also C++ if you want to hurt yourself), Windows depends on the engine you'll be using (i.e Unity uses C#, other solutions use C++ and so on)  and iOS will use whatever coding stuff they made for themselves :D 

Computer Case: NZXT S340 || CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 || Cooler: CM Hyper212 Evo || MoBo: MSI B350 Mortar || RAM Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3200MHz || PSU: Corsair CX600 || SSD: HyperX Fury 120GB & 240GB || HDD: WD Blue 1TB + 1TB 2.5'' backup drive || GPU: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 4GB

Laptop 1 HP x360 13-u113nl

Laptop Lenovo z50-75 with AMD FX-7500 || OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 17.04

DSLR Nikon D5300 w/ 18-105mm lens

15 minutes ago, Tb428 said:

I have com up with an idea for a game that I want to make but I am not sure what language to use. I have some Java experience so I was going to use that, but my friend told me that Java would run slower than c++. The only problem is I have no c++ experience. Any suggestions? I can learn another language if I need to but I would rather not if possible.

Most games are programmed in Ruby, or java, if you know java, go with Java or Java Script (which are different). And your friend saying one language is slower then the other is wrong, it's the environment which would make one slower. Let me know when your game is done and I want to check it out.

Just now, CFstorm said: