Dbrand skin or hard shell case?

roboplex22

So we just got a whole new pack of mobile devices in our family for Christmas, and we're not sure if we should invest in cases, or skins. It all boils down to protection though. We've generally always used Speck hard cases. Will a Dbrand skin protect from drops/scratches? We love our tempered glass screen protectors. Will they work with a skin? I've never used a skin before, and I'm thinking about putting one on my Moto X and seeing how it goes. I'm just looking for the pros and cons of a case vs a skin. Can you all help me out on this? Thanks!

CPU: Intel Core i3-4150 3.5GHz | Motherboard: MSI B85-G41 PC MATE | GPU: MSI R9 270x | Case: Fractal Design Define R4 | RAM: 8GB HyperX Fury Red | Storage: ADATA SP600 128GB / WD Blue 1TB | PSU: EVGA 500W 80+ | Monitor: Acer S220HQL Abd 21.5" | Audio: Logitech Z213 Speakers | Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013 | Mouse: Razer Deathadder Chroma | PCPartPicker Link: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/v8FNmG

The skins will for sure protect from scratches and marks, but not from things like cracks, breaks, and internal damage. A DBrand skin will work fine with your glass screen protector as long as you don't put a skin on the front of the device. A user above mentioned OtterBox cases, but I don't usually recommend those because of their high price and SUPER bulkiness. Speck cases are popular and pretty well liked, so I can't recommend against them. DBrand skins look awesome though, and I often get questions about my carbon fiber skin. Either way, the glass protector will most likely work, and it all comes down to whether of not you want to give up some protection for the great looks and thinner profile of the skin.