Seeking Gaming Router expert advice

lowr1d3r

Dear all,

I am new to this wonderful community, and decided to join as I see a lot of expertise.

I decided to take the plunge and buy a serious router as the one given by my ISP Hyperoptic UK, is a really scarse quality ZTE model.

I don't know which one to get though!

The things that mostly matter to me are:

1)low latency as I play online on ps4 and PC

2)Fast and reliable speeds - no need for it to be the absolute fastest out there but to have acceptable speeds

3)Ideally a WRT router that gets updated regularly by the community (even though I am not a WRT expert)

4)I live in an apartment that isn't massive so I don't need something with ultra strong range

Models I was considering are 

1)Linksys WRT32X (105GBP) - I hear though that the official firmware hasn't been updated in quite some time. I was wondering if DD-WRT solves issues and added features over time

2)asus rt-ac86u (160GBP)

Based on the above preferences and the prices...which one would you recommend and why? And if neither of these two, then which one? I'd like to ideally stay at around 150gbp and not break the bank

I look forward to your advice! Many thanks

Pfsense Box + Unifi AP or old router acting as a AP beats any consumer router gear.

Small SFF second hand/reburbs business desktop with 4 Intel Add-on card.

Magical Pineapples

Just now, desertcomputer said:

Pfsense Box + Unifi AP or old router acting as a AP beats any consumer router gear.

Thanks, however I have no clue what this is and as I am not an expert I'm not sure whether this would be the best option ... i'll look into it though. If you had to recommend a consumer router would you have a preference?

1 minute ago, lowr1d3r said:

Thanks, however I have no clue what this is and as I am not an expert I'm not sure whether this would be the best option ... i'll look into it though. If you had to recommend a consumer router would you have a preference?