Professional Advice for Mid Level Developer

super_teabag

TLDR: mid level developer (3 years experience) wants to know path to promotion, but doesn't get a straightforward answer. Advice wanted.

So, I've been working for a software company for just barely a year now. I'm a developer there, and we use .NET and MS SQL for our back-end. While the Front End is Angular 8/7.

Basically, I wanted to know my path to becoming a "Senior developer", or rather what does  a "senior" member look like at our company. Knowledge wise, business wise and other things.

Walked into my bosses office, and was like "boss man what does a senior developer look like at X company".

His response was more or less "we don't distinguish between developers in terms of senior, junior, and mid level developers". Which seems to me like a sub par answer.

If I want to further my career as a developer I'd like to know what it would take to get better. Besides that answer I've enjoyed working at this company. Everyone on my team comes to me for complicated Angular questions. Or anything regarding front end development. 90% of the time I can answer their questions for them.

This discourages me from trying hard at the company. I'm considering polishing off my resume and finding another job, but I'd like to hear other thoughts.

Your manager isn't completely off with his answer, but I think he did evade the question a bit. These things are often just titles, I know some companies where Senior Developers completely lack the skill to be called Seniors, and some Mids that are very skilled, and deserve the title. I think that nobody really knows for sure, everyone has their own definition and you just go by feel. Then again, I'm nor a Recruiter nor a Manager. My own personal categorization/feel of this is:

• Juniors need guidance to carry out their tasks and learn
  • Mids are perfectly capable to deliver on their own, able to grow on their own