Where are 16:10 monitors above 24" size?

Delicieuxz

Looking at the 16:10 monitors for sale, they're all 24" size. That's too small, IMO. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 2693HM, which is labelled as 26", but I've read it listed some place as actually 25.5", I'm not sure which is the exact size. But it's a very satisfactory size for a desktop monitor (if anything I'd like an addition 1 - 2" larger), and 24" by comparison is not as satisfying. But when I've looked for a potential replacement monitor, I couldn't find a 16:10 monitor that's larger than 24".

I find a 16:9 ratio to be ridiculously disproportionate and distractingly narrow, vertically, and disadvantageous in gaming, reading, and app use due to a 16:9 monitor's about 1.75" less vertical height than a comparable 16:10 monitor - and that reduction in vertical space works out to be cropped screen visibility, as 16:9 and 16:10 ratios feature the same width display. Unless I find a good sized 16:10 monitor, I'll just keep using the one I have.

Recently, my 6 year old monitor starting being problematic, with the screen taking a long time to turn on, and looking glitchy. But I opened it up, and replaced all the capacitors for around $4, and now it is as good as new again. I think Samsung used lower quality capacitors when building the monitor to shorten its expected life, so that an owner would have to buy a new monitor after so many years.

The reasons I'd consider buying a new monitor to replace this one, which really is great, is to have a more energy efficient monitor, and less heat created by the monitor screen. And maybe for higher resolutions than 1920x1200. But if I can't find a replacement model that's bigger than 24", I won't bother. The aspect ratio and monitor size come before the other details that I've mentioned.

Also, I wish that NCIX would allow search filtering of monitors based on their aspect ratio, so that only 16:10 monitors could be returned as a search result.