Gamin' padz or Mechanical Keyboardz

wng_kingsley7

Having the curiosity of never using a mechanical gaming pad how would you contrast between a dedicated pad against a mechanical keyboard?

any switches? different ergonomics? just name the factors that change the way you play? like it? hate it? share your opinion

Please become a member of the Linus Tech Tips forum, keep writing smug remarks & let us love you. Peace out.

<| Project M13 & Silverstream. Other DIY projects |>

too many stupid drivers to play with and too much time to set up with the gamepads.

mech board all the way.

You can also pick the switches with a keyboard, the orbweaver only uses mx blues.

Will work for electronic components and parts

Reviews: Meelec CC51P - Monoprice 8323 - Koss Porta Pros  - Shure SRH-440 - Shure SRH-550DJShure SRH-840 - Hifiman He-500 - iBasso D4 - o2 Amplifier  -  SkeletonDac

I've been using the nostromo n52 gamepad since 2006, I cannot comprehend playing an mmo without it. no more cirque du soleil finger acrobatics stretching shift + number buttons or alt + number buttons. also I use the thumbstick for motion control instead of wasd so I can maintain dps while moving. which is more finger acrobatics if you are hitting w + numbers 

Keyboard + mouse all the way. Anything else feels odd and uncomfortable.

Case-NZXT H440 | Motherboard-Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | RAM-Kingston HyperX Blue 2x8GB 1600MHz | CPU-Intel 3770K @ 4.3GHz at 1.215v | Heatsink-Coolermaster Hyper212 Evo | GPU-EVGA GTX660 SC | SSD-MX200 250GB | HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB | PSU-EVGA GS650

Mouse-Logitech G600 | Keyboard-Ducky Shine 3 MX Blue. white backlight | Headphones-Audiotechnica ATH-M50s. Beyerdynamic DT990

I've never tried a gamepad. Could be good. Like anything else peripheral related it's all about personal preference. Try one out and see if you like it.