Talk me out of Buying a Nvidia Shield Tablet

Arcticfo

Hey guys so I’m looking into getting a shield tablet because I’ve always been fond of the form factor.  Anyway, the problem I’m having is I already have a full powered Gaming desktop (reason for wanting the shield exclusively), an Asus Zenbook, and a Moto X.  Though I’m sure it wouldn’t replace my phone due to portability (8” is portable but not quite that portable) I’m concerned about my laptop.  I’m kind of afraid that if I pick up the shield then I will pretty much never have use for my laptop again.  I’m a student so I do like typing my notes though that has never been an option for me when it comes to math and physics which are core parts of my major and I would like to add those to my digital note collection.  Also I read a lot of comics and though I love my phone a bigger screen would make comixology that much more enjoyable.  Same with e-reading I have a nook touch though one less device is good and though I prefer reading from an actual book I’d honestly rather read from a tablet than a dedicated E-reader.

Pros:     

1.       Game Streaming

2.       Math and Physics Notes

3.       Comixology

4.       E-reading

5.       Android Gaming

6.       Portable Media device for when I travel (fairly often)

Cons:

1.       Possibly replaces my laptop

2.       Game streaming isn’t necessary in my apartment

3.       I could use the $300 + for something else

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

Also one quick question about the shield.  Has anyone used a dual shock 4 via Bluetooth with it?  How does it work comparatively to the base controller?  I ask because I love the ps4 controller and use it for my PC currently and would love to be able to just transfer it over to the shield.

ArcticFo

"I don't know, isn't that Brilliant, I love not knowing keeps me on my toes." David Tennant

Like with someone else asking to talk them out of buying a MacBook Air, I can't talk you out of it.