Synology AC2600 Router how do i change the MAC address?

NoisanceRitual

Hi.

Synology AC2600 Router how do i change the MAC address?

I was doing this on a linksys router just by "cloning" it and hitting save.

Now it seems there is more options on the synology admin and it says operation error when i click "ok".

I'm a network noob. I just need to change the mac address so that i get a new public ip.

Thanks for the help :)

image.png.483e6f8fe33a3439781294ccb6fc2162.png

Its going to be asked so I might as well be the one, why do you need a new IP address?

Its generally not a good idea to invent MAC addresses at random.

Router:  Intel N100 (pfSense) WiFi6: Zyxel NWA210AX (1.7Gbit peak at 160Mhz)
WiFi5: Ubiquiti NanoHD OpenWRT (~500Mbit at 80Mhz) Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, MS510TXPP, GS110EMX
ISPs: Zen Full Fibre 900 (~930Mbit down, 115Mbit up) + Three 5G (~800Mbit down, 115Mbit up)
Upgrading Laptop/Desktop CNVIo WiFi 5 cards to PCIe WiFi6e/7

1 minute ago, Alex Atkin UK said:

Its going to be asked so I might as well be the one, why do you need a new IP address?

Its generally not a good idea to invent MAC addresses at random.

Sometimes i'm blocked from my server by my faulty noob ass i am and being able to change my public ip would make it quicker.

Do you still get the error if you put the REAL MAC address of the router in there?  That would at least isolate if its expecting more parameters to be put into those fields or doing some sort of lookup to see if the MAC address you put in is real or not.

WiFi5: Ubiquiti NanoHD OpenWRT (~500Mbit at 80Mhz) Switches: Netgear MS510TXUP, MS510TXPP, GS110EMX
ISPs: Zen Full Fibre 900 (~930Mbit down, 115Mbit up) + Three 5G (~800Mbit down, 115Mbit up)

2 minutes ago, Alex Atkin UK said: