GTA V PS3 Question

Antoine Kamarovszki
Go to solution Solved by comicsansms,
37 minutes ago, Antoine Kamarovszki said:

I've got a PS3 Slim and the only game I play is GTA V. 

1.) how do I quit GTA and return to main menu? I don't see a 'quit game' option anywhere. (I'm new to consoles - lol)

2.) the dvd reader's loud, when it reads data from disc (all the time) it sounds like a printer. So...,

- - a.) is it possible to remove the hard drive at all?

- - b.) if yes, should I buy a SATA SSD and use it instead of an HDD then buy the digital version (downloadable) of GTA V? I know the map/texture load times wouldn't benefit much from the SSD itself because it uses SATA3 not - to my knowledge - but I believe a mechanical drive would generate more heat than an SSD. Not to mention that it's silent as well! Is that correct? 

3.) Does the digital version (the downloadable game) still have that weird "texture pop-in" issue? 

Thanks!

There's not a main menu for the PlayStation 3 version of GTA V, you can press a button to go to online mode, or it will just load your GTA V save file. Same thing applies with every other GTA on PlayStation.

(No need for a main menu)

You can replace the HDD with an SSD, yes. I bought a PS3 SuperSlim just so I could play GTA V - only problem, was the intergrated 12GB of flash storage wasn't enough to run GTA V off - so I ended up slapping in a 2.5" laptop HDD. IDK about the Slim, but the super slim, you slide the left hand side panel (I think it was the left), and under that was just a caddy (or lack of caddy, since sony didn't include caddy's on 12GB consoles), where you could replace the existing HDD.

I don't know what you mean by the weird texture-pop-in issue. Maybe you mean textures not loading? that sound like a sad HDD. I had a PC with a dying HDD, and GTA V would be textureless because it couldn't read the HDD fast enough.