PC to uni! Upgrade or nah?

iblackboy

Heyy was wondering should I bother upgrading my PC's CPU and in turn ram motherboard and storage for uni? I'm an engineering student ( mechanical) I will have a laptop which I'm in the midst of searching for. But here are my specs

I5-4670k ~ AIO cooler
16gb Ram
Asus gene vi m-atx board
GTX 1070
256 GB SSD
1tb HDD
730W thermaltake power supply

I'll be going abroad so was also wondering if I'd be able to take my AIO cooler? ( Heading down under!)

If youre looking to get more performance out of the system then sure. If not and it works just fine for you, don't see why you would need to.

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

8 minutes ago, Slottr said:

If youre looking to get more performance out of the system then sure. If not and it works just fine for you, don't see why you would need to.

Eh you're right tbh! Cheers what about taking the AIO cooler abroad?

2 minutes ago, iblackboy said:

Eh you're right tbh! Cheers what about taking the AIO cooler abroad?

If you're going to be in a warmer climate, having watercooling would be recommended.

Quote or tag me( @Crunchy Dragon) if you want me to see your reply

If a post solved your problem/answered your question, please consider marking it as "solved"

Community Standards // Join Floatplane!

if it's working fine for you then don't upgrade.

if you do want a little bit more multi-core cpu power a pretty easy thing to do would be sell your i5 and buy a used 4th gen i7 to replace it... a 4770K crushes your i5 in multi-core speed because of hyperhtreading. do check your PSU first though. i7's consume a bit more power i think.

http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i7-4770K-vs-Intel-Core-i5-4670K/1537vs1538

15 minutes ago, Crunchy Dragon said: