7820x 5ghz

danrey84

Think I may for the first time have won the silicone lottery for a change. Had my 7820x a couple of weeks been slowly pushing the limits but from what I've have read and seen is that most don't seem to go to 5ghz. Now mine gets to 5ghz but I'm only 1.29v and alot of people are needing more volts for less frequency. Done the usual tests cinebench , realbench stress test and OCCT just to name a few. Just wondering if there are any 7820x users and what your experiences are. 

Thanks again 

8 minutes ago, Firewrath9 said:

run prime95 overnight.

Would you not say 4 hours of prime and 4 of OCCT is good enough for a stress test ?? 

Mine is a little bit weird, and its probably because I am not experienced at overclocking and have been using automated tools mainly. For reference, I am using a Corsair H115i AIO for cooling.

If I set the overclock to 4.6ghz, it is fine for gaming or general use. However, if I use something that puts full load on all the cores, its not sustainable. So obviously not a viable option for the most part. 

My results are probably due to the Gigabyte EasyTune tool I am using as I believe it ups the voltages as you scale the clock speed whether its necessary or not.

Up to 3.8ghz on all cores, and everything is fine under full load with CPU temps sitting around ~65 degrees. 

As soon as I go higher, even to 3.9ghz, under full load, the CPU temps jump up into the 90 degree range. So I am guessing something else is happening that I am not aware of as a 0.1ghz increase usually shouldn't result in a 30 degree temp increase.

FYI, for full load conditions I am simply referring to doing video encoding with Handbrake, which maxes all cores at 100% until the task is done.

I have never been able to set it higher than 4.6ghz as the system is instantly unstable.