Chromebook for university. What apps?

Hello LTT community!

Finally getting myself a Chromebook (Lenovo 500e for those who would ask). 

Since my CB is a 2-in-1 with EMR wacom stylus, I want to take full advantage of it and ditch paper notes.

But as a student, I am naturally greedy and seek the best, free (or one time payment only but cheap, no subscription) applications for everything I could need: note taking, quotes, formulas (economy), even photo editing and simple vector design in addition to other neat applications for school. Apps compatible with EMR stylus are a plus!

Oh god why a chromebook

You could probably check with your university to see if you have any benefits from being a student. 

eg. I get the entire Office Suite for free, and have a significant discount on the Adobe CC suite by just being a student of any college on campus

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

2 minutes ago, Slottr said:

Oh god why a chromebook

Didn't have the money for a Surface and wanted a convertible to scribble notes on PDFs and all. Also because of battery and performance for the price. I will make myself a desktop in winter to game and heavy editing (for now I still have a laptop running windows to do that)

If I were in your shoes, I’d get a cheap refurb business laptop with Windows and get the Microsoft Office suite for free through the University. The battery life won’t be great however. Expect ~2 hours. 

But you can always buy a new laptop as well. It will likely be a flimsy plastic unit with an awful screen and tinny speakers but it will get the job done. And battery life should easily reach 5 hours.

6 minutes ago, kokakolia said: