New M.2

butters9m
Go to solution Solved by Electronics Wizardy,

If you just want the os on the new drive do a reinstall.

Id get a 250gb or 500gb ssd.

What drive? Id get a 250gb sata over a 120gb nvme anyday.

Im getting a new m.2, and was wondering what the best way would be to transfer windows to the new m.2. Im not sure if it would be possible to have the m.2 ass a boot device, only containing data need to boot, then storing programs else ware. the m.2 is 120gb so i cant just put all of my programs on it (i have 900gb of data right now).  

the current drive is a hdd which has windows and programs, l would like to boot off of the m.2 but keep the programs on the hdd

Just now, butters9m said:

ok, im just new to this stuff, so if I install windows onto the new drive, how can i access my old programs?

You can transfer the rest of your data onto another drive (1TB WD Blue is about $40) and access it from there

CPU: Core i9 12900K || CPU COOLER : Corsair H100i Pro XT || MOBO : ASUS Prime Z690 PLUS D4 || GPU: PowerColor RX 6800XT Red Dragon || RAM: 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance (3200) || SSDs: Samsung 970 Evo 250GB (Boot), Crucial P2 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB (x2), Samsung 850 EVO 1TB || PSU: Corsair RM850 || CASE: Fractal Design Meshify C Mini || MONITOR: Acer Predator X34A (1440p 100hz), HP 27yh (1080p 60hz) || KEYBOARD: GameSir GK300 || MOUSE: Logitech G502 Hero || AUDIO: Bose QC35 II || CASE FANS : 2x Corsair ML140, 1x BeQuiet SilentWings 3 120 ||

LAPTOP: Dell XPS 15 7590

TABLET: iPad Pro

PHONE: Galaxy S9

She/they 

2 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

ok, im new to this, so how can i access my old programs if i install windows on the new drive and boot off of it?

ok, im new to this, so how can i access my old programs if i install windows on the new drive and boot off of it?

Normally you need to reinstall programs due to how the files are in the registry. You can sometimes just copy files. Depends on the programs.

1 minute ago, Electronics Wizardy said: