Gaming laptop???

greenroost1445

Over the summer I might get some cash around $1300 usd. So I was wondering should I get an Asus G55VW or build a new desktop?

I was thinking the laptop would be good for portability but if I could get the desktop I would be getting more power. Could anyone show me another laptop for ~$1300 or another build for that price?

I like to keep gaming and portable devices separate. I've always regretted buying a laptop for gaming. It didn't have very good battery life, and it didn't have much graphics power anyway.

I would buy the desktop for gaming. If you need a laptop for other things, then buy a cheap one and put an SSD in it.

If you need the portability of a notebook, and you also want to play games sure, go for a notebook, if you don't really need to have a portable device to do so, then just pick up a higher end desktop.

In my case I wanted something portable, that I could use for college and also take to Lan parties(I'm an advertising student, and I work with design and video editing software, so a gaming laptop makes sense as a power user...) I also plan on building a desktop soon.

I went ahead and chose this: G46VW (saw Linus unboxing and decided it had a good size and reasonable specs)

But I couldn't find it with the actual specs I wanted it. So I started searching and found HIDevolution

I went for this configuration:

Processor

3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM 2.4GHz (6MB Cache, up to 3.4GHz w/ Turbo Boost 2.0) - installed by HIDevolution

Thermal Paste

FREE IC Diamond on CPU + GPU - INSTALLED BY HIDevolution

Operating System

Genuine Windows® 8, 64bit, English

Video Card

NVIDIA 2GB GTX 660M GDDR5

LCD Panel

14.0" HD+ Antiglare with EWV (1600x900) LED Backlight -

Memory

Corsair Vengeance 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz

mSATA SSD

Crucial M4 SATA3 6Gb/s 128GB mSATA SSD - INSTALLED BY HIDevolution

Primary Hard Drive

500GB 7,200 RPM SATA 3Gb/s - installed by HIDevolution

Battery Options