Seeking Help w/Finding Right Performance-Temp Balance for New i7-8700k Build

Hi and thanks for reading.

I'll start by saying that I have very little OC knowledge and experience. As the saying goes, "Just enough to be dangerous." 

To get it out of the way, here are my specs:

• CPU: i7-8700K w/CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ heatsink
  • RAM: 16 GB Patriot Viper DDR4-3400 
  • Mobo: ASRock Z370 Extreme4 
  • GPU: Zotac Amp! Extreme Core GTX 1080Ti (boosting to 1999 MHz)
  • Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro w/five fans (1x200mm front intake, 1x140mm bottom intake, 1x140mm rear exhaust, 2x120mm top exhaust)

Last night I reconfigured my fans some to improve monitoring. Once that was done the system seemed to be running pretty cool — CPU was 25-35 C idle and 40-50 C in games (with brief spikes to 65 or so); GPU was boosting to 1999 MHz @ 50 C in games. 

But I wanted to get a little extra from my CPU and RAM. What I had my sights set on was getting all CPU cores to run or boost to 4.7 and to up the RAM, which is DDR4-3400, to go from the mobo's default setting of 2133 MHz to 3200 MHz. Several folks have informed me that 3200 MHz is the sweet spot, while going to 3400 MHz could be trickier (I'll admit that I don't fully understand why...timings? voltage?).

Problem is, outside of enabling the XMP profile, which is easy enough, I don't understand how to OC my RAM (i.e., what settings need to be adjusted) or what to set it to in the ASRock Z370 bios. So, I first enabled the only XMP profile the RAM came with, which is for 3400. Then I also set the CPU OC target to 4.7 via one of the easy OC settings in bios. Because of the changes already in place to take the RAM to 3400, this translated to a jump to about 4.8 on the CPU. I figured that wasn't much higher than my goal, and not unrealistic for the 8700k, so I went with it.