Any ideas what this is?

spellmanuk
Go to solution Solved by spellmanuk,

UPDATE: I decided to just plug it in after all and it has a program called "winautocap5" on it its a program from sanyo to enable you to wirlessly send your image to the projector which would make sense since i work in a school with like 80 projectors.

Hi guys,

I started a new job a few months ago after playing catch-up for the past few months I’ve finally had some time to sit down and sort out the heaps of shite the last guy left in the draws of my desk some of it was quite useful like crap loads of brand new cmos batteries and sticks of RAM etc then there what’s just loads of stuff not so useful. Anyway one thing that’s in there was this usb stick I’m not too sure what it is I can’t find anything about it online particularly and obviously as a general rule I don’t go plugging things in that I don’t know what they are. The only markings it has are it says “Auto Capture” printed on it then there is a sticker underneath that says ver. 1.00 then on the usb plug it’s self it says that it’s 512MB. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. 7FFCBE89-AE64-48ED-B391-FAC0969E971A.thumb.jpeg.ba046c1cfa9c8a2f80b227ce97a41580.jpeg

I lurk a lot

I’m thinking it’s a USB thumb drive with a serial key for Auto Capture PC on it. Then again, I’m most likely going to be wrong.

I was also thinking of some sort of application that logs the keystrokes and typing patterns of users that use he computer it is plugged in, then requests that info to be parsed, converted and sent over the network to another location for viewing, or saved locally in the admin account.

"The only thing that matters right now is that you're here, and you're safe."

Start up a linux live boot and see what's on it is what I would do. No harm can be done then AFAIK.