Ryzen 5 2400G Linux?

I bought a Ryzen 5 2400G to use for upgrading my aging ECS FM1 Socket AMD A8-3850 based media server. I want to make sure that my new CPU will work with Kernel 4.15 prior to purchasing the motherboard and RAM. Then, I will need advice on which motherboard has the best support for Linux and the Ryzen 5 2400G OOTB. I am kinda on the fence about selling the 2400G and buying a Synology NAS or going Intel (very expensive option), or just finishing the build.

The server will be mainly headless. The OS is currently a toss up between Fedora 27/28 server and FreeNAS (depending of course on which has better support for the chip). I prefer team Red for my Chips whenever possible. Ive been using the current board and processor since 2011 almost nonstop as a media server. I need the transcoding power too. I plan to leverage any m.2 drives as caching drives. If I can get a mITX board, and the APU works, Ill have an open PCIe slot for either a PCIe Tuner card or an expansion RAID/SAS card (though I prefer soft-RAID or ZFS-RAID).

Id go intel here personally, esp with freenas as intel g4560's will just be a bit more stable for now. 

Also the intel will be good at transcoding due to quicksync.

Also for apu's the main pcie is 8x, so often the second pcie slot is disabled.

Most of the time a ssd cache really isn't worth it in zfs, the slog isnt need as you arent doing sync, and l2arcs normally get low hit ratios.

4 minutes ago, KRDucky said:

hmm. So, maybe I need to look to FreeNAS?

They wll both work fine and zfs on linux works very well.

If your going ryzen though, id go fedora 27 or debian testing.