watercooled media server rig

youri377

hi all,

i'm want to build a custom PC for running video server software for large LED walls and projections (the one's you see at large concerts, festivals, etc). this system is going to get abused quite a bit, the whole thing will have to fit inside a 3unit 19 inch server case which will be inside a road/flight case for transport. during transport the case will be tipped on it's back which means the pc will be facing rear io to the floor. during use and in a worst case scenario it will be out in a field in direct sunlight running 12hours non-stop. compared to a regular desktop this thing is going to have a though life.

since i'm going to need something like a i7 8700 and a gtx 1080 to run my software smoothly and the case will only have air in/out at the front and back cooling is probably going to be an issue, therefore i think water cooling is going to be by best option. unfortunately i have no experience with custom loops etc so i'm looking at some kind of all-in-one solution and the EK phoenix products seem like a perfect match. my only worry is, will an AIO cooler like this survive the abuse of the road? has anyone got experience with this cooler and would you trust it in the conditions described above? 

any other tips and recommendations are welcome as well.

get it a nice sun umbrella and you should be fine, however without putting it through a test of outdoors in direct sunlight, you arent really going to know what the cooling will be like, most coolers are not designed to be used in such circumstances. 

The ambient temperature outside is 100 degrees then your cooler will have to work a lot harder to keep things cool enough. You also have to worry about other parts that might get hot and not necessarily be water cooled. Resistors and other chips on the board, RAM that could over heat, Hard Drives / Graphics cards (if they arent water cooled) that could over heat.