Liquid cooling components?

So I'm finally building a new desktop and opted for a threadripper build that I'd like to liquid cool. The issue is that even though I've built several computers, I've never tried liquid cooling them so I'm basically a total noob... So I basically need help finding the best/most affordable components that I could then use in a custom loop.

I'm aware that there's an ultimate water cooling guide in this section of the forum but I don't have a ton of free time to read through all of it so a TLDR here's how you get started and here's what you'll need would be awesome! For prices I'm in Canada so try to find stuff with Canadian prices and I'd like to keep it as affordable as possible. Basically I'd rather not spend over 150 bucks on cooling. Also it'd be neat if the tubing was quick release like in Linus's whole room liquid cooling series.

Due to the nature of Threadripper only the Enermax Liqtech TR4 that has proper coldplate coverage for the die and none of it is compatible with a custom loop. Technically you could buy a Swiftech H220-X2 and their Threadripper kit (AM4-TR4-HPD) which would let you use CPU block again at least but even then you want a block with proper coverage in the end like the Apogee SKF-TR4 if staying Swiftech for example. Air cooling may be your best option here until you save to properly invest the $600+ required for a proper custom loop.

for 150 bucks its gonna be tight to also get quick releases in there.

you will need a EK CPU block ~ 50 bucks

a pump/res combo ideally ~120 bucks

a radiator ~ 40 bucks

fittings: 2 on block, 2 on rad and 2 on pump for about 30 bucks.

i think it would be best to get one of EK's fluid gaming kits, and then swap in your own threadripper compatible block. a nickel block would be ideal in that scenario.

10 hours ago, PPCs-Kat said:

$600+

Surely liquid cooling's not that expensive...

10 hours ago, RollinLower said:

you will need a EK CPU block ~ 50 bucks