Overclock Ryzen 1600 w/ Stock Cooler?

So, would I be able to overclock the Ryzen 5 1600 with the stock cooler easily enough? I'm trying to decide between it and the 1600X, and I have no experience overclocking, so would it be too difficult with the stock cooler to get it near the clock of the 1600X? If not the stock cooler, which other cooler, or is the 1600X worth it for only $30 more? I really appreciate your help.

Just now, Spartemex said:

So, would I be able to overclock the Ryzen 5 1600 with the stock cooler easily enough? I'm trying to decide between it and the 1600X, and I have no experience overclocking, so would it be too difficult with the stock cooler to get it near the clock of the 1600X? If not the stock cooler, which other cooler, or is the 1600X worth it for only $30 more? I really appreciate your help.

I'm trying to figure out the same thing. As far as I've been able to figure - people say the stock cooler with the 1600 is good enough but obviously not the best. I've seen reviewers such as Hardware Unboxed have massive temps when overclocked. If you find you have that issue I'd suggest something from Cooler Master's 212 Series or some of the BeQuiet or Cryorig coolers. One thing I would say is that since you plan to OC, don't bother with the 1600X.

|| CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (@3.9GHz) || Motherboard: ASUS Prime B350 Plus || Cooler: Arctic Freezer 33 eSports Edition || GPU: EVGA GTX 1070 SC || Memory: 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB C16 (@2933MHz) || SSD: SanDisk 128GB || HDD: WD Blue 2TB, Toshiba 2TB, Transcend 1TB || PSU: Corsair RM550x || Case: Fractal Design Focus G || Monitor: 2x AOC 23” I2369VM IPS Full HD, Samsung 32" LED TV Monitor || Mouse: Logitech G703 Wireless || Keyboard: Cooler Master MK750 RGB (Cherry MX Brown) || Speakers: Dell Stereo Speakers || Headphones: Sennheiser HD 4.40 BT / Samsung Galaxy Buds ||

1 minute ago, Inversion said: