Jump to content

Potential iPhone 5S virus/adware?

So if I type in "PG248Q Calibration TomsHardware" on Safari or Google Chrome when using my iPhone and proceed to the first link, shortly after I will be redirected to a site named "apple.com-uk-dig2.claim.your.daily.reward" and it tells me that I have won some rewards, obviously fake. I don't get redirected on any Android devices or my PC, so it's either that my mobile is infected or this pop up only shows for Apple devices, I do not have another Apple device to test it on.

 

The pop-up also says "Congratulations lucky British Telecom user!" which is my ISP (BT, I live in the UK), so maybe it's something DNS related? I made a post recently about some internet troubles I was having where my internet would shut off on all devices around 1 AM or 4 AM for no reason and when I tried to access webpages in this period it would say "the connection is not private" instead of "no internet connection". This has since gone away and I haven't been disconnected in around 3 days. So maybe it's possible I'm being attacked?

 

Any idea how I would get around this without doing a factory reset on the iPhone? Or does this sound like a bigger issue?

Link to comment
https://linustechtips.com/topic/808234-potential-iphone-5s-virusadware/
Share on other sites

Link to post
Share on other sites

Your phone is fine, I haven't heard of any website ever successfully breaching the security of an iPhone except for sites that were dedicated towards that goal, like Jailbreakme.com, but that has since long been patched along with the exploits. 

Laptop: 2024 16" MacBook Pro M4 Pro, 512GB, 48GB Unified Memory | Phone: iPhone 16 Pro Max 512GB | Wearables: Apple Watch SE | Car: 2025 Honda Accord SE & 2007 Ford Taurus SE | CPU: R7 5700X | Mobo: ASRock B450M Pro4 | RAM: 32GB 3200 | GPU: Sapphire Nitro+ 9070XT | Case: Fractal North | OS: Win 11 | Storage: 1TB Crucial P3 NVME SSD, 1TB PNY CS900, & 4TB WD Blue HDD | PSU: Seasonic Focus GX-850 | Display: LG 27GL83A-B 1440p @ 144Hz, Dell S2719DGF 1440p @144Hz | Cooling: Noctua NH-U12S | Keyboard: G610 Orion Cherry MX Brown | Mouse: G305 | Audio: Audio Technica ATH-M50X & Blue Snowball | Server: 2024 M4 Mac mini, 256GB SSD, 16GB Unified Memory | Storage: Terramaster D4-320 DAS (12TB Seagate Ironwolf Pro, 12TB Seagate Ironwolf, 6TB WD Blue HDD, 500GB Crucial SSD)
Link to post
Share on other sites

That's just a bad link. Try looking at the links you are clicking on, and see what other tabs are open. Close all of them, as one of them (could be any) may be causing the issue. 

Main System: Phobos

AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (8C/16T), ASRock B450 Steel Legend, 16GB G.SKILL Aegis DDR4 3000MHz, AMD Radeon RX 570 4GB (XFX), 960GB Crucial M500, 2TB Seagate BarraCuda, Windows 10 Pro for Workstations/macOS Catalina

 

Secondary System: York

Intel Core i7-2600 (4C/8T), ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3, 16GB GEIL Enhance Corsa DDR3 1600MHz, Zotac GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB, 240GB ADATA Ultimate SU650, Windows 10 Pro for Workstations

 

Older File Server: Yet to be named

Intel Pentium 4 HT (1C/2T), Intel D865GBF, 3GB DDR 400MHz, ATI Radeon HD 4650 1GB (HIS), 80GB WD Caviar, 320GB Hitachi Deskstar, Windows XP Pro SP3, Windows Server 2003 R2

Link to post
Share on other sites

Probably a scummy ad on the website the link goes to, detects ios browser, redirects, displays message. Gets isp name from public ip address range. Tries to get you to give your personal information to receive "gift". Just a typical scam attempt and little to worry about.


Internet problem is something with your modem/router or something on the isps side.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×