Looking for a laptop for Computer engineering and programming in college

I am in my first year for computer engineering in college and i was looking for a laptop i could have to take notes on, run visual studio for c,c++ programming and maybe other applications like auto cad.

Price really isn't the issue but i was maybe looking for something under $2000. Gaming also isn't an issue since i have my own gaming computer from home.

I was looking at the XPS and Surface Pros. 

LED keyboard preference I don`t care, just something that can last me through out the day with out slowing down and something i can store all my projects in

3 minutes ago, PenguinsInVans said:

I am in my first year for computer engineering in college and i was looking for a laptop i could have to take notes on, run visual studio for c,c++ programming and maybe other applications like auto cad.

Price really isn't the issue but i was maybe looking for something under $2000. Gaming also isn't an issue since i have my own gaming computer from home.

I was looking at the XPS and Surface Pros. 

LED keyboard preference I don`t care, just something that can last me through out the day with out slowing down and something i can store all my projects in

does screen size matter? and also do you want a touch screen?

XPS15. refurb it. don't buy it new. 

Laptop Main

(Retired) Zbook 15: i7-6820HQ, M2000M, 32gb, 512gb SSD + 2tb HDD, 4k Dreamcolor

(Retired) Alienware 15 R3: i7-6820HK, GTX1070, 16gb, 512 SSD + 1tb HDD, 1080p

(Retired) T560: i7-6600U, HD520, 16gb, 512gb SSD, 1620p

(Retired) P650RS: i7-6820HK, 1070, 16gb, 512gb + 1tb HDD, 4k Samsung PLS

(Retired) MBP 2012 Retina: i7-3820QM, GT650M, 16gb, 512gb SSD, 1800p

Hi,