What is a good overclock for my ram?

Overclock ram to?  

11 members have voted

1. 1. Overclock ram to?

• anything higher than 2666mhz but lower than 3000mhz
    • anything between 2800mhz to 3200mhz should be fine
    • don't overclock your ram

I have corsair vengeance 2666mhz ram on a z170 motherboard, was wondering what the safest overclock is? I am fairly new to all this so any help would be appreciated, thanks :)

CPU: i7-6700K | Motherboard: MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X | RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB DDR4-2666 Memory

Solid State Drives: Two PNY 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drives | GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black Edition

PSU: Thermaltake Smart 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply | Case: Thermaltake Core V71 ATX Full Tower Case.

PCPartPicker

The question is why? 

Just now, deXxterlab97 said:

The question is why? 

I feel like overclocking my ram that is the only reason. I don't have a specific reason, I just want to overclock ram.

CPU: i7-6700K | Motherboard: MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X | RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB DDR4-2666 Memory

Solid State Drives: Two PNY 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drives | GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black Edition

PSU: Thermaltake Smart 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply | Case: Thermaltake Core V71 ATX Full Tower Case.

PCPartPicker

RAM is usually pretty highly binned. If you have 2666 rated ram, that's probably all you are going to get. If it reached 2800 reliably it would have been sold as 2800.

No substantial benefit from overclocking ram

Remember kids, the only difference between screwing around and science is writing it down. - Adam Savage