What do I upgrade next on my PC?

Go to solution Solved by TriFlix Films,
10 minutes ago, Dr_Nooberious said:

I am new at this, so Where?

Right here :)

29 minutes ago, TriFlix Films said:

I'd wait for the price of the GPU's to decline.

1. GPU (AMD 480 or NVIDIA 980)

2. Mobo ($114)

3. Ram (32gb for $100)

4. CPU ($214)

5. Monitor (34" 21:9 LG $400)

Since you want to build a seperate rig for editing and you dont plan on doing much with this one, you wont need more than 16gb ram.

The GPU is pretty dated and youd benefit greatly from one of the new model, I use a 970 and is maxes the settings for almost ever 1080p game. But if you end up getting a 1440p later you might want to just bite the bullet and get the 460/70/80, whatever you can afford. However make sure the software you use works well with AMD, I edit videos in HitFilm and they down work well with AMD.

Next would be the MOBO just because it's easier to change it now than later after you buy RAM and a new CPU (if you could buy all three of these at once, that would be easiest). Last would be the monitor, since it actually has a moderate refresh rate... I would save up and get a really good/cheap 21:9 curved monitor.

Hello Everyone.

So I some money for myself now and I want to upgrade my PC, but I am not sure what to upgrade.

Here are my Specs:

CPU: I3-6100 overclocked from 3.7GHz to 4.6Ghz.

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master T4.

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170-HD3.

RAM: 1 x Transcend 8GB 2133MHz. (Since I overclocked my CPU, I had to down clock the RAM to 2000MHz to keep it under 2133MHz for stability).

Storage: 2 x 3TB drives (1 is my main drive while the other acts as a server drive for other PC in the house) and 1 x 500GB for VMs.

Monitor: Samsung S20D300 1600x900 60H overclocked to 75H refresh rate.

Keyboard: Genius GK 120005/K

Mouse: Alien G7

Case: Sharkoon T28.

Case Fans: 3 Pre-installed fans, 2 at the front with 1 at the rear.