Tips for a beginner overclocker?

So I'm just getting into overclocking myself and I was wondering if you guys can give me some advice for overclocking. I have a MSI GTX970, and I'm atm trying to find the sweet spot for overclocking it in Afterburner. I'm adding +50 mhz at a time first and then +25. So how hot should my gpu get? At the moment of writing this im running msi kombustor and its not going over 70 deg. How hot can it go before I should stop there? I've heard that its fine as long as it doesnt go over 85 deg or so, is this true? any other advice?

Winning an argument with a woman step by step

step one - talk to her

step two - fight with her for 2 hours even if you are really right

step three - admit that she is right for the sake of your safety

step four - realize that you have accomplished nothing and she still thinks you were wrong and now she thinks you are even more stupid

GTX1080ti, I5-4690k, ASUS Z97 PRO-GAMER, 8GB DDR3 1600mhz, Hyper 212 EVO, Tt view 31 RGB.

Anyhthing under 80c is ok for the 970.

Watch your voltage, thats what gets you.

That being said GPU OCing is more locked down then cpu OCing (unless you are really pushing things with crap like a custom bios) so odds are the worst you will manage to cause is some temp artifacting

System Specs

CPU: Ryzen 5 5600x | Mobo: Gigabyte B550i Aorus Pro AX | RAM: Hyper X Fury 3600 64gb | GPU: Nvidia FE 4090 | Storage: WD Blk SN750 NVMe - 1tb, Samsung 860 Evo - 1tb, WD Blk - 6tb/5tb, WD Red - 10tb | PSU:Corsair ax860 | Cooling: AMD Wraith Stealth  Displays: 55" Samsung 4k Q80R, 24" BenQ XL2420TE/XL2411Z & Asus VG248QE | Kb: K70 RGB Blue | Mouse: Logitech G903 | Case: Fractal Torrent RGB | Extra: HTC Vive, Fanatec CSR/Shifters/CSR Elite Pedals w/ Rennsport stand, Thustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Track IR5,, ARCTIC Z3 Pro Triple Monitor Arm | OS: Win 10 Pro 64 bit

Watch Youtube guides, lots of them.