NZXT Fans don't fit gigabyte Motherboard???

C0nn0r

I'm just doing my first build with NZXT phantom 530 case and a gigabyte z97x gaming 3 motherboard. I'm a noob but it seems to me that the cables for the NZXT fans (contain 3 pins inside) don't fit onto the ports labeled fan on the mobo which have 4 pins. Is there different types of fan connections and mine aren't compatible?

there should be a "slot" on the female fan connector and a plastic bit on the male motherboard connector, just make sure the two of those are lined up. They can be finicky to get in there but they should fit.  

CPU: Intel Core i5 6600K  Motherboard: Asus Z170-A  CPU Cooler: Corsair H110i GT  GPUGigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme  RAM:2x8gb HyperX Fury  SSD: 120gb A-Data  HDD: 1Tb WD Blue 7200RPM - 750gb Hitachi 2.5" HDD  PSU: EVGA SuperNova G1 650W  Case: Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX  Monitor: 27" AOC LED IPS x 2  Keyboard: Corsair Strafe RGB Silent  Mouse: Corsair Scimitar RGB

HeadsetLogitech G430  

Just now, derick90 said:

there should be a "slot" on the female fan connector and a plastic bit on the male motherboard connector, just make sure the two of those are lined up. They can be finicky to get in there but they should fit.  

So the 3 pinned cable does connect to the 4 pinned connection? I tried and it just sat vert loosely and fell out very easily

Connector_mbfanpwm_3to4pin.png

Thats how it should look 

CPU: Intel Core i5 6600K  Motherboard: Asus Z170-A  CPU Cooler: Corsair H110i GT  GPUGigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme  RAM:2x8gb HyperX Fury  SSD: 120gb A-Data  HDD: 1Tb WD Blue 7200RPM - 750gb Hitachi 2.5" HDD  PSU: EVGA SuperNova G1 650W  Case: Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX  Monitor: 27" AOC LED IPS x 2  Keyboard: Corsair Strafe RGB Silent  Mouse: Corsair Scimitar RGB

HeadsetLogitech G430  

3 minutes ago, derick90 said:

Thats how it should look 

The cable doesn't have holes though. It has its own pins that stick out