Need info for NAS setup

I have some old hardware lying around and I was planning to build myself a NAS. For OS, I'm currently looking at NAS4Free, because the hardware will not be able to handle Newer versions of FreeNAS (definitely not ZFS).

However I'm a total networking noob. In this video Linus mentions to read the "Highly recommended 60+ page .pdf written by Cyberjock from the freeNAS forums" 

I can't seem to find this document or for that matter any other information like "NAS for noobs". Does anyone have some easy to read guides or tutorials for FreeNAS or NAS4free?

Anyway, I'm not fixed on NAS4free, If you can recommend a different OS, I'm all ears. Any help will be appreciated.

I'll list the hardware below.

Intel DQ45EK mobo

Core2Duo E8400 3.0GHz

8GB DDR2 Ram

6x 500GB HDD's

5 minutes ago, Jonathan Lemmens said:

I have some old hardware lying around and I was planning to build myself a NAS. For OS, I'm currently looking at NAS4Free, because the hardware will not be able to handle Newer versions of FreeNAS (definitely not ZFS).

However I'm a total networking noob. In this video Linus mentions to read the "Highly recommended 60+ page .pdf written by Cyberjock from the freeNAS forums" 

I can't seem to find this document or for that matter any other information like "NAS for noobs". Does anyone have some easy to read guides or tutorials for FreeNAS or NAS4free?

Anyway, I'm not fixed on NAS4free, If you can recommend a different OS, I'm all ears. Any help will be appreciated.

I'll list the hardware below.

Intel DQ45EK mobo

Core2Duo E8400 3.0GHz

8GB DDR2 Ram

6x 500GB HDD's

Tek Syndicate has plentey of great tutorials and explanations of networking, and a lot of NAS stuff as well, and if you're looking for a way to learn I would definately reccomend checking out their networking videos, very informative.  FreeNasVid(