Choice of education program for game development

Claryn

Hi.

I am currently in my final year of the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IB), which is a 2 year high-school program that is supposed to prepare the students for university.

One of my higher level subjects is Computer Science, with the optional focus on OOP in Java.

I have applied to some universities and received some offers. Now I just need to figure out the best route to get into my dream position.

So let's set things straight:

I am from Norway but I have always had the intention of studying abroad. That is basically why I chose to do the IB instead of the traditional Norwegian High School program. 

I have a huge passion for video games and programming, and I really want to became a living out of the combination of those two things. With that said, I would not have any problem with working in a larger studio, as a game developer, for some years and getting some experience. However, the optimal position would be where I am part of a smaller team (<50), mainly working as a developer, but also got a hand in the actual design of the game. 

Currently I'd say I master the basics of Java quite well. Stuff like arrays, abstract data structures like linked lists and binary trees, gui, nested looping etc., and I am still trying to grasp and fully understand the concept of OOP.

I have made small programs like a digital version of the card game Cards Against Humanity, a lot of calculators with the possibility for more advanced calculations, and some programs for converting between systems like decimal to binary to hex etc. 

I am by no means an expert programmer, but I know the basics and I am able to make some intermediate programs atm. 

Within game design I have little experience. Mostly what I have done is making some tweaks to some board games I like (Betrayal in the house on the hill!!!!!) and made some ideas for board games that I never had the time to test out.