Overclocked 4770k to 4.5 ghz (w max 80 temp)

Hey guys, I'm new to overclocking and just recently build a computer. I was able to find a stable OC at around 4.5ghz but I'm noticing when I use intel's stress test on all cores that the max temp reaches 80 degrees cel. Is this abnormally high? I'm currently using a COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO air cooler. Any insights would be great! Thanks so much

That's fine, as long as you keep it below 90C and 1.5V you're fine. And for a Haswell CPU, that isn't too bad at all, what voltage are you using?

Is it safe to keep my computer on and running at this frequency for days at a time, and will it decrease the lifespan of the cpu?

Hey guys, I'm new to overclocking and just recently build a computer. I was able to find a stable OC at around 4.5ghz but I'm noticing when I use intel's stress test on all cores that the max temp reaches 80 degrees cel. Is this abnormally high? I'm currently using a COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO air cooler. Any insights would be great! Thanks so much

It's the highest I'd ever let my CPU go. I had my 2500k at 5GHz under 80 degrees at one point. Granted I'm using a noctua NH D14. That's a pretty decent overclock with haswell. Nice going

Feel free to message me if you want to chat!

Is it safe to keep my computer on and running at this frequency for days at a time, and will it decrease the lifespan of the cpu?

It's fine, it will decrease the life time, but nothing too significant.

As long as it doesnt overheat too much it'll be fine. if it was me, I'd want it cooler than that.

Feel free to message me if you want to chat!

It's fine, it will decrease the life time, but nothing too significant.

Alright! Thanks for the insight, as long as it can last be a good 6 years before I build my next one I'll be a happy camper =)

Alright! Thanks for the insight, as long as it can last be a good 6 years before I build my next one I'll be a happy camper =)