SMSL 793-II

KaminKevCrew

So, I bought one of these a few weeks ago, and I thought I might as well share my thoughts on it (finally). I've gone through two pairs of headphones since I got it, so I've had some experience with different sounds from it (and certainly different efficiencies...)

The SMSL is really, really small. It's about the size of a Keyboard's numpad (and roughly the same thickness as a standard keyboard too, albeit from the back of the keyboard, not the front.) It's a little black box (but you can buy a silver face plate) with a volume knob, a headphone jack and two buttons on the front. The back has two RCA outputs an optical in, a coax in, and a power in. Please note: Just about everything the manual says is wrong; the RCA jacks are line outs, not line in. If you want to be using optical and not coax, the light under the 'select' button should be red, not green (took me a few to figure out, since the manual, which I read first, is lying about both of those things). It's a solid little box, and the thing doesn't get hot at all, which can be nice. Oh, I say it's small because I have a full size receiver under my monitor, and that's what I'm used to for sound...