So I decided to purchase a Corsair H50 for my i5 and was very impressed with the results. Under load while playing games with my Oculus Rift, it would creep up to 88C and with the H50, it never broke 59C. In a quest of curiosity I decided to try liquid cooling my XFX R9 290x. I figured a LOT of heat was originating from that thing, and plus it was very loud. So I bought a Kraken G10 and a Thermaltake Water Extreme 3.0.

Initially, I used the H50 with my 290x. I was not happy with the results. So much as opening a youtube video would cause the thing to hit 85-90C. Yes, just watching a youtube video. I thought "well surely this must be wrong" but I don't know. That's why I'm posting here. I figure you guys are good experts on this. Out of curiosity I spent a very cumbersome hour switching my 290 over to use the Thermaltake, and I am getting the same exact results.

I don't know if it's because of the thermal paste I used or what. This is my first time doing something like this, and from what I've researched some brands of paste are better for heat transfer with GPUs than others. Is that true? Also, I've seen multiple videos where people mention letting the paste set. What do they mean by that? I've checked to see if the insane temps were coming from the VRM but no, the VRM is actually very stable even under load, so I am lead to believe that this is just a thermal paste issue. I've used both coolers on my CPU with absolutely no problems.

What do you guys think?

post-232550-0-12200200-1433052115_thumb.

Did you buy heatsinks for your VRMs?

The BBQ: i7-4770 / 212x / Tri-X R9 290x 1075/1400 / MSI H87-G43 GAMING / EVGA G2 850W / Corsair Spec 03 / Samsung 840 EVO 250gb SSD / Toshiba 2TB HDD / 8gb Kingston DDR3 1600mhz

Peripherals: G710+ / G502 / Bose Companion 2 Series III / Audio Technica ATH-M40x / Sound Magic E50

Monitors: Dell U2414H