Hyper-V or Individual Physical Machines

I could really use some guidance as I'm very new to VMs. 

I'm in the process of building a home server that will serve the following functions: File Stroage (parity), Plex Server, & Media Streaming.  Originally, I was going to install FreeNAS, but since I'm a student, I had access to DreamSpark and got a copy of Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials for free.  I previously used WHS, so I thought I'd be more comfortable with WS2012.  I have about 8 TB of total stroage and 2x 120GB SSD in Raid1 for OS.  Im rocking a Xeon E3-1246v3B processor with a Supermicro X10SL-7 (previously had an Intel S12000RPL board that had fan speed issues and was returned) motherboard that has 16GB of Crucial ECC RAM.

I also have 3 other spare systems that I was planning to use for other reasons: pfsense, isoloated usenet download system, and a spare.  2 of the 3 are old 2005ish Supermicro servers w/ dual Xeon processors (single core).  The other system is a non-server based low-end PC that someone gave me. 

So, my question is - instead of running all these other systems, could I instead install Hyper-V server 2012 and create a VM for the following functions:

1. VM for Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials for Data Storage
  2. VM for Windows 7/8 for isolated Usenet downloads
  3. VM for Windows 7/8 for Plex server
  4. VM for pfsenese - I doubt this is even possible and question if it makes sense, but thought I'd throw it out there. 
  5. Additional VMs for testing purposes (Linux, FreeBSD, etc)

I think my hardware is good enough to run the VMs (might need to bump ram to 32 GB though).  Is it unwise to lump these activities together onto 1 system?  Is having a storage server as a VM bad news?  Will an infected (virus/malware) VM spread to other VMs? 

Also, if I understand it correctly, once I get a VM dialed in w/ the OS install and apps, I can save the VM as is and revert back to that state or replicate that VM as needed - right?