2500K Vs 3570K

Hello Linus Tech Tips Forum! I am trying to finalize my PC build and I am having trouble deciding the CPU. I Plan using my system mostly for a gaming rig and some slight video editing, but I am a complete overclocking noob and I would really like to get into overclocking. I see the 1155 platform as a good starting point. So my question is, which should I choose, the 2500k or the 3570k? I hear the 2500k runs cooler compared to the 3570k when overclocking, (I plan to hit 4.0 ghz to 4.3 ghz) but that's about the only difference I know between the two besides the 3570k having about a 10% performance increase. So is it worth it to overclock the 2500k at 4.3 ghz and maintain a cooler temp? In addition I plan on using the Evo 212 like every one and there grandmas for cooling. If somebody can recommend a better cooler in the 50 USD price range it would be much appreciated. For the motherboard i plan on using a AsRock Z77 Extreme 4, and I am unsure if that board is compatible with a 2500k. Thank you very much for your time and I hope to hear from your reply's soon.

[h=1][/h]

i would go with the 3570k and if u want a better cooler for overclocking i would go for the corsair h100 h100i or even a h80 thay make some of the best coolers and for the motherbord i would look more into the msi mpower or something in the msi or asus and if u went with a msi bord u have a better luck not geting a doa bord

I believe (not positive) the 3570K runs hotter, but also faster clock-for-clock. Both are compatible with that motherboard. The Hyper 212 Evo should easily give you 4.2 GHz, 4.4 if you raise the voltage a teeny bit.

I would go for the 3570K unless you can get the 2500K for substantially cheaper (like $40 cheaper).

Edit: I have a 3570K with that motherboard. I can confirm that in my experience it does fine. I have it stable at 4.2 GHz with a similar cooler without having raised the voltage.