Best GTX 970 for a noob

althoir88

Hi guys. I'm new here, so uh, be gentle lol.

I've been PC gaming for quite some time now, but I'm not what you call an expert in the intricacies of PC hardware. I know how to plug in some parts, here and there, but I'm still learning.

So now, I need help in upgrading my graphics card. I want to upgrade my aging HD6850 to that sexy GTX 970, but I'm not sure which brand that is the best for non-overclocker like me. I like the look of the Strix the best at the moment, though I'm not sure if it is the best option. 

Oh this is the rest of my humble rig.

i5 4460 3.2 ghz

8GB of RAM
Asus HD6850 1GB VRAM

Asus B85 Pro Gamer Mobo

Cooler Master Elite 430 
Corsair GS600 PSU

Thanks.  :)

The least expensive one

The least expensive one

This one. Also, what is your monitor? A 970 is beginning to be a bit overkill for  1080p 60hz monitor.

Any GTX 970 is good, obviously don't go with a brand nobody knows so you don't get a cheaply made product

Planned I Hope Someday I Do First Build: CPU: Intel Core i7 5820k CPU Cooler: CM Hyper 212 EVO Mobo: MSI X99S SLI PLUS RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4-2133Mhz Storage: Corsair Force LS 240GB SSD & 2TB WD Green Graphics Card: ASUS GTX 970 4GB Turbo Case: NZXT S340 White PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 750W 80+ OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit OEM Monitor: AOC i2267Fw 60Hz 22" Monitor

This one. Also, what is your monitor? A 970 is beginning to be a bit overkill for  1080p 60hz monitor.

A small 20 inch 60hz Samsung monitor. Native 1600X900.  :P  But I will be upgrading this next year, so I thought a good card is essential for the future. Or is my logic flawed...?

Any GTX 970 is good, obviously don't go with a brand nobody knows so you don't get a cheaply made product

Examples of the nobody brands? I am a little scared of Leadtek, Palit and Gainward, but they seem to be the cheaper options.