Choosing a home theater projector

Val.J

Hello Guys!

I`m thinking of getting a projector (2d) primarily for watching movies. I really don`t know alot about them and I have no idea what to look for. Considering that i`ll mainly use it in a very dark space with almost no ambient light to interfere with the image, I`m not too worried about contrast and luminosity.  Right now i`m mainly looking at resolution, which to my surprise is really low in 90% of the products (800x600 or 1024x768). Is 800x600 enough for this use scenario?

Can you tell me what should I look for, what brands, types, resolution, connectivity? I`m really new to this stuff...

Come on :-)  not a single comment? :)

Hmm, I'm not an expert in projectors but I'll try my best XD

First thing, budget. I assumed you are willing to pay around $1000 Not too cheap also not too expensive for a projector.

Next thing is Projector technology. With $1000 budget, you are good to go with a decent DLP projectors. For LCD projectors, they tend to be more expensive but usually better than DLP, $1300+ for 1080p 2D and $1500+ for 1080p 3D.

Brand : BenQ, Epson, Optoma, Sony, Panasonic, etc. There are so many out there to choose. You might want to check the stores in your area first. What they have in their stock.

Connectivity : Mostly, HDMI. Some of them do have DVI. If you are watching movie from BD-player or PS3, you are good to go. ;)

Resolution : I'll go with 1080p for sure. Don't want to feel like sitting in classroom and look at super hugh low res projector. There are 2k and 4k projectors as well. ($12,000+)

Distance from projector to wall : Use this projection calculator to calculate the distance and how to setup your projector. It varies on each model because they have different thrown distance.

Projector screen : This one you might have to do some research. It depends on you setup + what kind of experience you want to have. Some give you brighter image, some give you sharper image :D