I need help with XOR-Encryption in C

v0gty

Hi,

Before I start with my question, i would like to apologize for my bad english.

For a school project i need to encrypt a *.csv-file using the XOR-Encryption method,

but I don't know how.

I'm a beginner in C, so could someone of you show me an example

for this?

I already googled about my problem, but I couldn't find anything that helps me.

v0gty

Read the file in blocks, write the blocks to another file with the ciphered data using the bitwise operator ^ (for XOR) to apply your key.

Want to solve problems? Check this out.

Read the file in blocks, write the blocks to another file with the ciphered data using the bitwise operator ^ (for XOR) to apply your key.

I don't really understand what you mean.

Can you explain that in another way?

Or can you show me an example (code) ?

Do you know how the XOR Cipher works, and what it does?

Do you know how the XOR Cipher works, and what it does?

No, not really.

CPU: i7 4770k | GPU: Sapphire 290 Tri-X OC | RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP 2x8GB | MTB: GA-Z87X-UD5HCOOLER: Noctua NH-D14 | PSU: Corsair 760i | CASE: Corsair 550D | DISPLAY:  BenQ XL2420TE

Firestrike scores - Graphics: 10781 Physics: 9448 Combined: 4289

"Nvidia, Fuck you" - Linus Torvald

Before I continue, when I say XOR Cipher, I mean what people mistakenly call XOR Encryption. :P

I'll try to explain it, but I suck at explaining. Basically data is physically stored in bits. 8 bits make 1 byte. C stores characters in ASCII, and each character in C is 1 byte.

The XOR cipher is a very simple cipher technique that, given a key, sequentially ciphers a given string by continuously "xoring" a string character with a key character.

First, XOR is a binary operator that does the following: given 2 bits x and y, the xor is true only if x or y are true, exclusively. Physically, true is represented as 1, and false as 0.

So, this list summarizes XOR:

1 xor 1 = 0

1 xor 0 = 1

0 xor 1 = 1

0 xor 0 = 0