New RAID Advice

Okay so I have 5 12tb seagate HDD that I am looking to create a raid with. I am a professional filmmaker and shoot R3D so I need a lot of storage, but I also need redundancy and safety for my clients.

i bought a USB3.1 5 bay enclosure with hopes of using that with Softraid(keep in mind I pretty much have no idea what I’m doing and these choices are largely guesses). 

so I created the raid and started transferring data onto it and pretty immediately I realized the data it was copying was all corrupted, or partial files. On top of that disks were disconnected from the raid but not the actual computer, I could see and interact with them in Disk Manager, but I could not get them to relink with the raid, meaning I lost a 1/5th of my data capacity and lost speed. 
I honestly don’t know what the culprit of this is, if it’s the software or the enclosure.

regardless, I need to find a safe and reliable solution yesterday. Should I just get a raid controller and put the HDDs in my computer case(has 10 bays already).

will this give me the performance and reliable I need? If I go this route, what card should I get and do I then need to get a raid software to manage it? If so, what do you recommend?

and yes, I would like to edit off this raid volume, speed is important. I’d like to do raid 5 or 10.

45 minutes ago, Sullivang24 said:

Okay so I have 5 12tb seagate HDD that I am looking to create a raid with. I am a professional filmmaker and shoot R3D so I need a lot of storage, but I also need redundancy and safety for my clients.

i bought a USB3.1 5 bay enclosure with hopes of using that with Softraid(keep in mind I pretty much have no idea what I’m doing and these choices are largely guesses).