Is this a good buy? a noobs question

Hi, im new to homelab and NAS, but i'we wanted a NAS for quite a while. Both to develop my skills in networking, but also to use as a mediastreaming server and storage.

I'we looked at different pre-built NAS, but recently decided to go for something 2nd hand.

Since i'm no expert in networking gear, and have no experience in enterprise gear, i feel like im stumbeling in the dark when encountering some of the ads.

Two of the ads that peaked my interest is from the same company.

• HPE DL380 G9
  • 16 core (32 logic) 
  • 256 GB RAM
  • 8x 4TB SAS discs
  • 2x 1TB  SSD Cache
  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v4 @2.1GHz
  • 5000 NOK (473 USD)

• HPE DL380 G8
  • 16 core (32 logic) 
  • 256 GB RAM
  • 8x  600GB SAS 10k Discs in Raid 5
  • Intel Xeon E5-2665 0 @ 2.4 GHz
  • 2500 NOK (237 USD)

Is any of these a good buy? If this is the wrong place to ask this, please let me know 🙂 

DL380 G9.png

HPE DL380 G8.png

Ryzen 7 3700X - Asus ROG strix B550-F Gaming (Wi-Fi) - Corsair Vengeance LPX black (8x2 3600 MHz) - Western Digital SN500 250 GB - Seagate Barracuda 3 TB - Gainware GeForce RTX 3060 Ti Phoenix “GS” - Phanteks Eclipse P400A Black - Cooler Master MWE Gold 550 Watt

You need basically nothing to run a nas. These are old servers and will consume a lot of power being a network drive.

1 hour ago, Timelesscow said:

Since i'm no expert in networking gear, and have no experience in enterprise gear, i feel like im stumbeling in the dark when encountering some of the ads.