How much in danger my data is? bit rot? linux+windows system

Orian Pax

okay so i run dual boot system, linux mint + windows
each operating system is on separate drive and i have only two hdds wd blue 2tb smr drives
and i dont use windows much. like unless there is a particular software i wanna use i just dont use it.

- Mostly i do web browsing and i am data hoarder kind of....
- Also i have a lot pdfs bcuz i work as a lawyer
- and i have 3.7 gigs of nsfw stuff which i dont wanna lose ofcourse
- so what i do is, i just copy paste (not cut paste, i dont have that much data to begin with) stuff from linux into windows hdd that's it

QUESTIONS -
- is bit rot gonna be a problem on windows HDD?? (since i dont open/use windows much.... like i think, i have used windows only twice in the past 3 months)
- you got any suggestions on how should i backup data faster/better or the way you like?
- also also How can i decrease the chances of bitrot
- Is bitrot more common on non raid systems like mine ?
(i dont use raid,unraid,zfs whatever it is)

You got backups? Those are really nice to have. HOw do you backup? Send it to a cloud service?

Generally I'd say its pretty uncommon. HDDs checksum all the data, ram errors are pretty rare.

You can checksum all the files and restore backups if there are error. There are some programs that will do this.

24 minutes ago, Orian Pax said:

Also i have a lot pdfs bcuz i work as a lawyer

backups, archival on something extremely long-lived, preferably multiple backups in different methods in different locations. depending on the type of lawyer-ing you do, your clients may rely on you being able to refer back LONG into the past.

oh - and there exist software packages specificly for lawyers to manage their client data, with security layers on top ofcourse.

25 minutes ago, Orian Pax said:

3.7 gigs of nsfw stuff which i dont wanna lose ofcourse

have a backup on one or two external drives.

32 minutes ago, Orian Pax said: