Logitech Trackman Mouse - First Impressions

Logitech Trackman Marble

I’ve been using this mouse for little over a week now and there’s no reviews on it in the site so I figured I’d make a relatively extensive one.

Why I got this mouse.

A little history as to why I got this. A year or so ago I experienced wrist pain from my keyboard for the first time and it was pretty bad. It lasted almost 2 weeks and as a drummer and programmer I figured I should really start taking care of my wrists. I started by getting a wrist rest and a better keyboard. After that I got an “ergonomic” Razer DeathAdder Black Edition. It’s comfortable, but not perfect for wrist positioning.

My wrist always ended up on the table in a relatively weird angle:

d5ccAEl.jpg

It’s not perfect but it was comfortable enough to deal with it. Recently I was considering a new mouse so I didn’t have to carry this one around to the office and back daily and since I don’t play any games at work I didn’t need a “gaming mouse” and looked into more options. A friend caught me browsing some used Trackball mice in eBay and said I could borrow one he never really got into himself.

I’ll compare it in many ways to the DeathAdder because it’s a very popular and common gaming mice.

QuADxME.jpg

Build Quality

I don’t have the specifics (and sadly couldn’t find them) but the Trackman has some decent weight, not exactly heavy but I can lift the DeathAdder like its paper. I’d say almost twice the weight, but I’m just guessing. The bottom has 3 piece of rubber to keep it from sliding on mouse pads, wooden desks or glass.

VjKRasx.jpg