Hey yall, I'm a noob here. I am steadily saving up for the 5800x3d after being recommended this CPU for my MOBO as they said it is arguably the best  CPU for the AM4 platform

However, one thing that I forgot to consider: I was recommended the 5800x3d cuz it was the best GAMING CPU

I only game somewhat occasionally (tho at high settings) and equally spend as much time in programs like sony vegas and Clip Studio Paint EX.

I looked a bit around and someone said that the 5800x was more the versatile one.

If my current CPU rn is the Ryzen 5 2600, which would you recommend? Would the productivity performance difference be significant between 5800x or 5800x3d? Or would the difference between them be negligible relative to the sheer jump in performance im making from my 2600?

Full Spec Breakdown:

ASUS PRIME B450M-A

RTX 2060

Ryzen 5 2600

Thermaltake Toughpower GF1 650W 80+ Gold 

G.Skill RipJaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin SDRAM PC4-28800 DDR4 3600

In games the 5800X3D is considerably faster, but a tiny bit slower for productivity.  Both are a huge jump from a R5 2600.

2 minutes ago, si1enze said:

In games the 5800X3D is considerably faster, but a tiny bit slower for productivity.  Both are a huge jump from a R5 2600.

prettty much. If OP is thinking of purchasing 5800X, consider the cheaper 5700X instead. Its pretty much just a clocked down 5800X that runs cooler.

Press quote to get a response from someone! | Check people's edited posts! | Be specific! | Trans Rights

I am human. I'm scared of the dark, and I get toothaches. My name is Frill. Don't pretend not to see me. I was born from the two of you.

2 minutes ago, SorryClaire said:

prettty much. If OP is thinking of purchasing 5800X, consider the cheaper 5700X instead. Its pretty much just a clocked down 5800X that runs cooler.

5800X is a hot one.  I limit mine to 120W with a single-fan D15..

11 minutes ago, si1enze said:

5800X is a hot one.  I limit mine to 120W with a single-fan D15..