VR headsets for Steam

rkunati

So, I want to play a VR game from steam called the Room VR: A Dark Matter. I have never used a VR headset before, so I don't know which one would work best. I have a Z590A-Pro motherboard with a 3070. On the steam page, it indicates I can play sitting down, which is good because my apartment is not very big. Does that mean I do not need any sensors? Also, does anyone know of a VR headset rentals in the Denver area, I don't want to have to pay full price for 1 game?

As you have never used a VR headset, I would try going to a VR Arcade in your area if you have them. The reasoning for this, is I actually purchased a VR headset a while back and ended up selling it as VR gave me a horrible headache.

My PC Specs: (expand to view)

Main Gaming Machine

CPU: Intel Core i7-10700K - OC to 5 GHz All Cores
CPU Cooler: Corsair iCUE H115i RGB Pro XT (Front Mounted AIO)
Motherboard: Asus TUF GAMING Z490-PLUS (WI-FI)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3600

Storage: Intel 665p 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME SSD (x2)
Video Card: Zotac RTX 3070 8 GB GAMING Twin Edge OC

Power Supply: Corsair RM850 850W
Case: Corsair 4000D Airflow
Case Fan 120mm: Noctua F12 PWM 54.97 CFM 120 mm (x1)
Case Fan 140mm: Noctua A14 PWM 82.5 CFM 140 mm (x4)
Monitor Main: Asus VG278QR 27.0" 1920x1080 165 Hz
Monitor Vertical: Asus VA27EHE 27.0" 1920x1080 75 Hz

57 minutes ago, rkunati said:

Does that mean I do not need any sensors?

You still need a way to track the motion controllers. Games that say sitting, that will truely only use the headset will generally mention use of a controller as well. Here are a couple examples (just two that I could think of right away):

Project Cars

Titanic VR

I know my office is pretty small, so I generally play standing only games. I still need to be fairly carefully, but it works. I place a mat on the floor, so I can tell where I'm at. So a small play area doesn't necessarily mean VR doesn't work.