Questions about potential server upgrade

I am new to the server world. 

My server is a old desktop computer that is currently running truenas. I use it has a plex and nextcloud server. I currently have only 2 8 tb drives in a RAID 1 config.

Original Specs:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02628226

I upgraded the the pc to 8 gbs of ram and add a rx550 for display (the integrated one seems to not work and I use to use this as a gaming rig). 

My problem now is the current storage capacity is fine for now, but I would like to upgrade it in the future. I can't add any more drives since the motherboard only has 4 sata ports and I am using one for the boot ssd and the others for the hdds.

My question is, should I buy a new motherboard for my server? One that has multiple pci ports, so I can add a SAS card. Which should allow me to have more storage. I have never touched SAS before, so I am not sure what card I would need, or even if this would work. Any input would be great.

My big plan if this works was to transfer everything over to a new server chassis that has tons of more drive bays for expansion. Please tell me if that is a good idea or not.

My last question as to do with RAID. If I were to get more hdds for space how can I change the RAID config. Is it an easy process or do I have to transfer over all the data to the new config.

Plenty of feedback is welcomed I want to learn as much as I can. Thanks.

Looking at the specs of your HP: 

Expansion Slots
1 PCI Express x16 slot for graphics card
3 PCI Express x1 slots
1 PCI Express x1 minicard slot

The easy option would be to add a cheap and simple PCI Express x1 Sata controller. That would let you add 2 extra drives. But, looking at your computer case, no easy place to put them.  So, another case is also required.