How to setup JBOD

Go to solution Solved by Nick7,

With JBOD in case of single disk failure you lose ALL data. You cannot access data that is on 'working' HDD.

This is due to limitations of filesystems which is on top of virtual drive that is created as JBOD. Filesystem does not know if it is one drive, multiple drives, RAID0, RAID10 or whatever beneath it.

If you want to keep data that is on working drive, setup each drive as separate volume.

If you want one 'large' drive, use RAID0 or JBOD. If you want to survive one disk error, use RAID5 (or other RAID with redundancy).

As NumLock21 explained - JBOD is similar to RAID0 without added performance benefit (in most cases). Also, with JBOD it's easy to use drives of different sizes.

But - again, one drive dies, all data is lost. With recovery tools you MIGHT save something, but... it's a long shot. And you do not want to go that way.

Hi all, I have an Orico External Enclosure that I've been using for a couple of Months. I have a 4TB Toshiba Drive installed and I'm receiving another 4TB Drive from them soon. I'm planning on using JBOD as the first Disk already has data on it. The Enclosure has settings for RAID and JBOD. I haven't changed it yet but I'll need to do it now. How do I exactly setup JBOD? Do I just turn it on and then wipe the second Disk then format it to NTFS? Or do I need to configure something within Disk Management?

Thanks for the assistance.

Drives you want to used in a JBOD setup must be added to the list and configured before any data and be stored on it. When there is existing data on the drive you want to add to a JBOD setup, it will wiped everything out. So if you got data on those drives, back them up before adding them to your JBOD setup.

Intel Xeon E5 1650 v3 @ 3.5GHz 6C:12T / CM212 Evo / Asus X99 Deluxe / 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 3000 Trident-Z / Samsung 850 Pro 256GB / Intel 335 240GB / WD Red 2 & 3TB / Antec 850w / RTX 2070 / Win10 Pro x64